Project Better Me

First, I should probably explain what Project Me is. If you missed my previous blog post, Project Better Me is the name that I am giving to the health and fitness change I want to make in my life. Recently I have found myself feeling unfulfilled with my life and I want to change that. This will not be a quick fix, an 8-week fitness programme involving extreme dieting, but a sustainable change that I can continue throughout my life. I want to become a better version of myself and I am going to find out how to do that.

As I mentioned earlier, this change will not be a quick fix with a timeline attached to it so there will be no end date by which I will want to have achieved all my goals. Instead, I want to set goals that I will continue to work on throughout my life, knowing that I will never fully achieve them. I will likely set myself short-term goals that fall under and will help get me closer into achieving one of the below goals but I am content with the idea that I will never perfectly achieve any of my life-long goals.

Improve My Mental Health

If you have followed this blog or any of my other social media platforms for a while, then you will know that I have previously been diagnosed with generalised anxiety disorder and depression. I have previously taken medication and attended therapy for both, however, I am currently not participating in either. Similarly to how one might attend the gym to improve their physical health, I want to take the time to improve my mental health through educating myself and following exercises known to improve mental health.

Consume A Healthier Diet

At this moment in time, I am not sure exactly what this healthier diet will consist of, but I want to take the time to find the diet that works best for me, whether that is a vegan, vegetarian, whole foods based or gluten free diet. I am not talking about restricting calories or never consuming sugar again, but a sustainable balanced diet that I can follow for the rest of my life.

Have More Energy

I am someone who gets fatigued easily and could sleep for 10-12 hours every day if I did not have a full-time job. I am not sure whether this is secondary to my mental health disorders or my diet but I want to take the time to work on improving my energy levels throughout the day so I do not fatigue as easily as I currently do.

Tone Up

I want to improve my physical appearance. As someone who works in the healthcare sector, I am aware of the importance that exercise has on somebody’s health and well-being. Growing up, I was involved in a variety of sports that my primary and secondary school offered, however, since beginning University, exercise has taken a backseat to my education. Since I am now working full-time, I want to take the time to improve my physical health and appearance.

Feel Fulfilled

‘Stop waiting for Friday, for Summer, for someone to fall in love with you, for life. Happiness is achieved when you stop waiting for it and make the most of the moment you are in now.’

This is one of my favourite quotes but not one that I am actively following in my own life. I am a planner, somebody who brainstorms how to achieve their goals without ever following through with their plans and achieving their goals. And I want to change this. I want to become a do-er, somebody who is actively working towards their goals instead of planning when might be the best time to start. Because, honestly, there is never a right time.

What is one goal that you want to achieve during your lifetime?

14 thoughts on “Project Better Me

  1. First off, Hannah I’m so excited you’re posting again! I look forward to reading more about your new project 🙂 and secondly good luck! I love that you’re taking a more long-term approach to an overall healthier lifestyle – definitely need to do that myself too! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I do Veganuary every year so I have experience being vegan but there is always more to learn. I was thinking about doing a blog post where I followed a fellow blogger’s ‘meal plan’ for a day – would you be down for that? xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.