My New Year’s Resolutions

If you read my blog post from last week then you will already know that I start my new year’s resolutions on the first day of February rather than the first day of January. I am definitely someone who likes to set resolutions at the start of the year to declare my intentions for the year and reflect upon these throughout the year in order to keep myself accountable. I am hopeful that the year ahead will be a more positive and productive year than the previous one and I am excited to see all that this year yields.

Something I have previously learnt about resolution setting is to follow the SMART method – making sure that all of the resolutions that I set are specific, measurable, attainable, realistic and timely – which will assist in keeping me accountable to the resolutions I set. Since I am setting new year’s resolutions, I am hoping to keep myself accountable until the end of the year when the resolutions shall be reviewed and adapted accordingly.

This year I want to focus on my physical and mental health.

I want to complete a work-out three times a week. I already have a Shreddy subscription, however, I have been inconsistent with completing the work-outs ever since I first purchased a subscription in late 2020. In order to prevent this, I have decided that I am going to set a day and time to work-out each week: Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays at 8pm. I am hopeful that by setting a day and time to work-out each week, this will help in keeping me accountable.

I want to learn how to cook a new dish every fortnight. I am definitely someone who is guilty of making the same five dishes on rotation because I am confident making them, however, this year I want to push myself out of my comfort zone and learn how to make new healthy dishes. I have seen advertisements for both Hello Fresh and Gousto online and so, at some point this year, I would like to trial a meal subscription service as a way of discovering new dishes.

I want to have a social media free day every month. This resolution is inspired by Jess Conte who also has a social media free day every month. On these days I want to take the time to focus on my both my relationships and hobbies offline.

I want to read fifteen books over the year. When I was younger, I used to love reading but unfortunately this is something that was forgotten as my workload increased. I want to take this year to rediscover some of my previous favourite books and to learn how to prioritise reading again. My best friend Grace and I have decided to start a book club where we will take it in turns to pick a book to read together every month so I am hopeful that this will help to re-ignite my love of reading.

This year I want to focus on my relationships. This past year has been isolating for obvious reasons and I definitely have not spent as much time with my friends and family as I have wanted to. Therefore I want to take the time this year to plan ‘date nights’ every month with my friends and family, either via Zoom or in person as able. Something this past year has taught me is the importance of relationships – whether that be romantic or platonic – and I want to take time to prioritise those who have supported me over the past year.

This year I want to increase my knowledge.

I want to attend a course on photography every month. Photography has been a hobby of mine for the past several years, however, I have never taken the time to properly learn about it and develop my photography style.

I want to attend a course every month that will further my career in healthcare. Something I love about working in healthcare is that it is always changing, there is always more to learn in order to become a better practitioner. There are so many resources available online and I want to take advantage of that this year.

What were your new year’s resolutions this year?

10 thoughts on “My New Year’s Resolutions

  1. I love your new year’s resolutions and your focus on relationships and wellness. I also learned a lot about cooking with Hello Fresh as well (new recipes, cooking techniques and using new ingredients). It was worth holding the subscription for a while but I eventually cancelled due to the cost.

    If you want, feel free to check out Obe Fitness! I love the platform because they offer sooooo many varieties of classes that made at home workout really fun and kept me coming back consistently. The online community for the platform is really great too if you ever decide to check them out.

    I also love the increase in knowledge! It’s only recently that I discovered how easy it is to attend a one-hour event online hosted by a professional so I like to try to squeeze some seminars into my work schedule every month as well.

    I hope you succeed in these resolutions this year!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you!
      I actually had my first week of Hello Fresh last week and all three meals turned out delicious – I was so proud of myself for being able to cook them! I had a discount code for my first week but I can see how it can get expensive without the discount.
      Thank you for the recommendation! xx

      Like

  2. LOVE LOVE LOVE ❤ Have been loving our book club so far and it has definitely reinspired my love of reading as well xx Good luck with your goals babes and you know I'm here if you ever need a partner in crime ❤ You'll have to send us photos of some of your recipies and am very excited for when we can finally go and do a photoshoot in person!! xxx

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Downloading the next book as I type ready to start tonight! 🙂
      Had the Katsu curry tonight which was delicious but unfortunately a bit too spicy for my liking. Will have to change the recipe slightly for next time. xx

      Liked by 2 people

  3. I am soooo with you when it comes to your resolution of expanding your cooking instead of sticking to the same few familiar dishes. I am guilty of that too! I’ve recently been taking time on the weekend to experiment with my cooking and baking and it’s been so much fun! xx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. These resolutions sound so amazing, I think it is great you started them in February instead of the normal January 1st. I am also so guilty of cooking the same meals every week, I find it so hard to try and think of something new and then perfect the recipe so this is a goal I need to work on too. Wishing you luck with your resolutions, I am sure you’ll smash them! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much Chloe! I would highly recommend Gousto/Hello Fresh (especially now you have a little bubba and therefore less time on your hands!). I have tried them each for a week and found that I loved each dish that I chose and they were easy enough for me to make! Will definitely be recreating the recipes at some point! xx

      Like

  5. Love this Hannah! Hope you manage to achieve all of these, I’m sure you will. I love that one of your resolutions is to expand your knowledge – I always make that one of my resolutions every year! xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.